To eat or not to eat ‘kitniyot ‘: that is the question

There is a joke making the rounds:”What do you call people who starve at Passover? Ashkenazi Jews.” The joke is based on the fact that Ashkenazim have a   more restrictive menu over the festival which bans beans, peas and rice, among other things. But all this is changing.   The news that the US Conservative  rabbinical authorities have overturned the traditional ban on certain grains and legumes at Passover testifies to the growing influence of Sephardi and Mizrahi customs on Ashkenazi Jews. Here’s an explanation of what is and is not permitted, from the Angelfire blog:

 Passover Food – Sephardic
Passover dietary law rulings permit the use of kitniyot [generally
speaking, kitniyot (singular form: “kitnit” or “kitneet”) include small
fleshless seeds of annual plants that an individual might ground into
flour], and their derivatives in other products. Examples are: ascorbic
acid, calcium ascorbate, caraway seeds, castor sugar, chick peas, citric
acid, corn, custard powder, dextrose, dried beans, dried peas, glucose,
green beans, icing sugar, lecithin, lentils, mustard, rice, sesame
seeds, soya beans, soya products, starch, sunflower seeds, tofu, and
their derivatives in food and beverage products in cooking during the
Passover festival.

In practice, most – but not all – Sephardic
communities eat products containing these grains and legumes and their
derivatives during Passover. However, like Ashkenazim, Sephardim forbid
the use of chametz grains, which include: barley, oats, rye, spelt, and
wheat, during the Passover festival, except when making matzah, in which
case any of the 5 chametz grains MUST be used so that it simulates the
situation that the Hebrews experienced when they tried to bake their
bread as they prepared to flee Egypt.

Furthermore, Sephardim, like
Ashkenazim, are forbidden to come in contact with or even have in their
possession in their household any chametz. Chametz includes leavened
foods, drinks and ingredients that are made from or contain wheat, rye,
barley, oats or spelt. Therefore, all grain products such as breads,
cereals and other breakfast foods, grain alcohol, grain vinegar and
malts, are forbidden during Passover. Some Sephardic communities will
eat rice and kitniyot during Passover but must check them three times
prior to the Passover festival to make absolutely certain there are no
kernels of chametz in the rice or kitniyot, in accordance with the
Passover dietary laws for chametz.

In addition, out of the concern for
an accidental mixture of kitniyot flour with chametz flour, Sephardim
will only use fresh legumes and not dried legumes, unless the dried
legumes were dried for the specific purpose of being used for the
Passover festival. Despite these restrictions, Sephardim and Ashkenazim
agree that having possession of kitniyot (Sephardic pronounciation) /
kitniyos (Ashkenazic pronounciation) – but not consumption of
kitniyot/kitniyos
for most Ashkenazim and some Sephardim – is permitted
during the Passover festival.

Read article in full 

Wishing all Point of No Return readers who are celebrating Passover, Hag sameah and Moadim lesimha!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

About

This website is dedicated to preserving the memory of the near-extinct Jewish communities, of the Middle East and North Africa, documenting the stories of the Jewish refugees and their current struggle for recognition and restitution.

Point of No Return

Jewish Refugees from Arab and Muslim Countries

One-stop blog on the Middle East's
forgotten Jewish refugees - updated daily.